Heinz Lohmann

1934 2001

Heinz Lohmann's curriculum vitae reflects a considerably artistic life. Born 1934 in Gevelsberg, he studied organ with Prof. Dr. Michael Schneider at the Nordwestdeutsche Musikakademie (North-west-german Academy of Music) in Detmold. In 1958, after he had passed his A-exam, he accepted his first job in Wolfsburg. There he met his wife, who stood by his side for many years as his registrar and most important associate.

Between 1960 and 1961 he took private lessons at Gaston Litaize in Paris. Back to Germany, Lohmann worked as director of the church choir at Christ Church in Düsseldorf. In the same year, he relocated to the "Kirche Zum Heilsbronnen" in Berlin with the famous Schuke organ, where he stayed until his retirement in 1998. In many years he continued the tradition of this church as the cultural centre of the Berlin music scene. Heinz Lohmann's artistic foci were regular concerts with work cycles, e.g. by Rheinberger, Bach and Reger. One has to remember the 70 Berlin Bachstunden (Bach hours) regularly taking place between 1980 and 1985. They covered the whole soloistic chamber music and the most important compositions for organ and harpsichord. In 1981, he first performed "Die Kunst der Fuge" (The Art of Fugue) completely on harpsichord in Berlin.

Due to his interpretation skills on the organ, and occasionally on the harpsichord he was invited to organ concerts in nearly all European countries, America, Eastern Europe and Israel. During these concert tours he often gave lectures. Apart from these manifold concert activities, numerous radio and gramophone recordings were made. These out of print recordings are now partly reissued on CD.

Not only his organ performances were remarkable. Apart from musicological studies he edited source-critical new editions of organ works by Bach, Walther and Zachow as well as violin concertos by Haydn. Furthermore, he wrote the "Handbuch der Orgelliteratur" (Handbook of Organ Literature) and numerous scholarly articles in internal and external magazines. From 1982 on, he intensively turned to compositional activities. Several German publishing houses printed his works.

Over the last years Heinz Lohmann attended to the publication of his recordings as he had to give up playing actively due to health problems. The CD "Heinz Lohmann plays Rheinberger" is the last project he worked on. The completion and publication, however, is after his death.



· [back] · [start] ·

Heinz Lohmann

1934 2001

Die Vita von Heinz Lohmann spiegelt ein umfangreiches künstlerisches Leben wider. 1934 wurde er in Gevelsberg geboren; er studierte Orgel bei Prof. Dr. Michael Schneider an der Nordwestdeutschen Musikakademie in Detmold. 1958, nach bestandener A-Prüfung, übernahm er seine erste Tätigkeit in Wolfsburg. Dort lernte er seine spätere Frau kennen, die ihm in vielen Jahren als Registrantin und zugleich wichtigste Mitarbeiterin zur Seite stand.

1960 bis 1961 bildete er sich in Paris in privaten Studien bei Gaston Litaize weiter. Wieder in Deutschland, versah er bis 1971 eine Stelle als Kantor an der Christuskirche in Düsseldorf. Im gleichen Jahr wechselte er nach Berlin an die Kirche Zum Heilsbronnen mit der bekannten Schuke-Orgel, an der er bis zu seiner Pensionierung im Jahre 1998 blieb. In vielen Jahren führte er die Tradition dieser Kirche, als kultureller Mittelpunkt der Berliner Musikszene, fort. Heinz Lohmanns künstlerische Schwerpunkte bildeten regelmäßige Konzerte mit Werkzyklen, u. a. von Rheinberger, Bach und Reger. Erinnert sei an die zwischen 1980 und 1985 regelmäßig stattfindenden 70 Berliner Bachstunden. Sie umfassten die gesamte solistische Kammermusik, sowie die wichtigsten Kompositionen für Orgel und Cembalo. 1981 spielte er die erste Berliner Gesamtaufführung der Kunst der Fuge auf dem Cembalo.

Durch seine interpretatorischen Fähigkeiten an der Orgel und zeitweise am Cembalo erhielt er Einladungen zu Orgelkonzerten, die ihn in fast alle europäischen Länder, nach Amerika, Osteuropa und Israel führten. Während dieser Tourneen hielt er häufig Vorträge. Neben dieser vielfältigen Konzertaktivität erfolgten umfangreiche Rundfunk- und Schallplattenaufnahmen. Diese vergriffenen Aufnahmen werden nun z. T. als CD wieder aufgelegt.

Nicht nur in der Praxis leistete er Bedeutendes. Nach musikwissenschaftlichen Studien gab er quellenkritische Neuausgaben der Orgelwerke von Bach, Walther, Zachow sowie der Violinkonzerte von Haydn heraus; des weiteren verfasste er das "Handbuch der Orgelliteratur" sowie zahlreiche Artikel in in- und ausländischen Fachzeitschriften. Seit 1982 wandte er sich intensiv der kompositorischen Tätigkeit zu. Mehrere deutsche Verlage brachten seine Werke heraus.

Heinz Lohmann hat sich in seinen letzten Lebensjahren verstärkt der Veröffentlichung seiner Einspielungen gewidmet, da ihm aktives Spielen aus gesundheitlichen Gründen nicht mehr möglich war. Die CD "Heinz Lohmann spielt Rheinberger" ist sein letztes Projekt, an dem er gearbeitet hat, dessen Vollendung und Veröffentlichung er jedoch nicht mehr erlebte.



· [Zurück] · [Start] ·